Course Reviews

It’s been wonderful to welcome so many different people to Hen Corner since we began our courses back in May 2010…

Below are some of their kind comments; why not come and try a course yourself?

The full list of regularly updated reviews can be found on the Omlet website and on TripAdvisor

– A fun and informative afternoon – Jackie, 19 November 2013

‘My husband and I and our two children (7 and 5) were keen to find out more about chicken-keeping, and whether we could manage it in our small suburban garden, so this course was perfect for us. Sara and her family made us incredibly welcome in their home – the mulled wine and homemade biscuits (shortly followed by tea and homemade cake!) were a lovely touch, and very welcome on a chilly afternoon. Sara passed on loads of really useful information and answered all the questions we had been storing up for her. We all enjoyed cuddling a chicken and it was great to see the Eglu chicken houses in action before we think about buying one. Sara had kindly provided crafts for the children for when they tired of following chickens around the garden (which they did for quite some time!) and thoughtfully included them in our conversations about keeping chickens, which made them feel really involved in the course. Thanks Sara, we all had a great afternoon and I would highly recommend your course!’

– An inspiring, feel-good, day – Emma, 27 September 2013

‘I attended the Pick & Pickle course run by Sara Ward at Hen Corner on 24th September 2013 – what a brilliant day! The course was intimate and, for that reason, very hands-on which is the best way to learn new skills. It was fantastic to cover a range of preserving techniques using oil and vinegar and to come away knowing how to whip up chutneys, jellies and pickles. Sara’s hospitality was amazing, with delicious homemade food served up throughout the day which kept us pickling on. I was inspired not just to turn my hand to pickling but to one day live the kind of lifestyle that Sara does; bees, chickens, garden, fruit trees – bring it on!’

5 Stars: Pickled Joy! – Ryanski, 18 September 2012

‘I bought my mum and myself a session with Sara at the Pick and Pickle course she runs. My mum had no idea what she was coming to do, but we both had a brilliant time making chutneys, pickles and even marmalade (by special request!). Sara made the day thoroughly informative, enjoyable and provided very tasty meals and snacks throughout. A very good host, and we came away with knowledge, a new way to view our kitchens and best of all 4 jars of our very own made Piccalilli, Chutney, Marmalade and more! Recommended!’

5 Stars: Fantastic Course, great hosts – Daniela, 26 August 2011

‘I went on the Course since I intend on keeping hens and wanted to know more about it. Sara and her husband were fantastic hosts, they were very welcoming, I learned a lot about the breeds, health, keeping their accommodation clean and answers were given to most of my worries. I now feel confident about taking the next step. The home-made cake and egg mayonnaise rolls were a nice touch and so was the certificate ( which I will mount on my wall) and goody bag, which I was able to share with my family. Thank you’

5 Stars: Excellent Evening – Terri, 28 July 2011

‘Sara and Andy are wonderful, very welcoming people. Felt like an evening in the garden with friends. A very informative course with delicious treats too! Thanks very much!’

5 Stars: Very good! – Doug, 11 September 2010

‘A really fantastic evening, Sara and Andy are excellent hosts. Having gone along to the course, only “considering keeping chickens”, I have now decided to commit and get them. If you are merely thinking about keeping chickens, then attend this course.’

The full list of regularly updated reviews can be found on the Omlet website and on TripAdvisor

Responses

  1. Dear Sara and Andy,

    Thank you so much for welcoming us to Hen Corner you gave us an insight into Hen keeping. What a fabulous concept. There were no questions unanswered from mites, how much did the food cost to how many eggs could be expected and even emptying the poo trays (no they didn’t smell).

    I came away believing that if I did decide to keep hens I would be buying into a circle of like-minded ready made folk who, if concerns or queries arise, are on hand to share experiences and help you along.

    I have to say the Pimms and egg mayonnaise rolls served in the garden under a blue sky followed by pretty butterfly cakes and a welcome cuppa were a delight.

    With Eggstreme Gratitude, Anne

    • Thank you for this kind feedback; we certainly enjoyed sharing our experiences with you…

      Do keep us updated – we’d love to hear if you get some chickens yourself!

  2. We just visited Hen Corner yesterday with our three children (aged 7,5 and 3). I cannot recommend it highly enough if you are thinking about keeping hens.

    We found out everything we needed to know, and the children’s faces when picking up the hens was wonderful. We checked with them in the evening, and they had remembered everything we had talked about. And they came away with loads of wonderful crafty things that they had done in the afternoon. I am baking the egg cups in the oven now!

    We have made a decision to get two hens after Christmas, so will keep you posted.

    And thanks for all your wonderful hospitality – we were totally spoilt, with mulled wine, hot chocolate, cake and lots of goodies to take away.

  3. We had a great time at Hen Corner. We learnt so much in a relatively short amount of time. Sara and Andy were so welcoming and the egg rolls and drinks were AMAZING. I recommend anyone who’s thinking about keeping hens, book a place on this course as it was a deciding factor as to whether we would take the plunge… Hens and coop should be arriving next week!

    Thanks again!


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: